they should have still used "Wake up" again instead of "Car Like a Bomb" too
2003-05-16
--- 12:17 p.m.

I saw the new Matrix the other night. If you haven't seen it yet, don't read this. I talk about how Beyonce dies at the end.

I will no longer put my faith in movies. Especially nerd ones. I'm not turning in my Indiana Jones silk tour jacket just yet or anything but I've just been burned so many times now. I can't do this anymore. I just can't trust you, baby. First Lucas shat in my mouth with Episode 2. Now this.

Ok, It didn't suck. In fact I thought it was fun. But It's nothing at all like the first movie. I think its analogous to comparing the first movie to "The Matrix: The Ride" that will inevitably open up now (in your pants*).

Why does this always happen? Why are people so afraid to make something cerebral or keep their hands out of the eye-candy jar. They say boxing is 99% mental. Sci-fi action filmmakers please take note of this. YOUR AUDIENCE: NERDS. We like to think. The first movie has this perfect blend of plot/action/style. This one seemed to be taken over by UPN.

My major gripes:
- They need to cut the crappy episode of Babylon-5 out they used for all the Zion scenes. If someone had used the phrase "the outer-rim territories" I would have walked out.
- Why do the "upgraded" agents seem about as tough as a bunch of American Idol contestants? In the first movie they made a big deal about how no one has survived a fight with one. You feared them.
- Morpheus needs to never make bare-chested speeches. He's more effective speaking leather-covered.
- I wasn't in it (again).

Ok that all said I still liked it. I still got nerd-shivers at parts but I just didn't leave unable to shake them for hours like the first time I saw the first movie. I just have to watch it not as a sequel but just a fun movie or with you so we could have swore at the screen and I could have yawned my arm around you.

*Sorry. Couldn't resist.

.

guestbook --- notes --- pitas --- mail --- join --- host --- me